“Damn, they don’t make them like this anymore”

Human beings in a mob
What’s a mob to a king?
What’s a king to a god?
What’s a god to a non-believer?
Who don’t believe in Kanye West?

 

Sadly it’s been a while. Any blog inspiration or creativity has been usurped by my day-to-day life over the past few weeks. However, inspiration (legitimately) reappeared to me in a dream last week. In this dream I wrote a blog post about why I flippin’ love Kanye West. For some, this dream would possibly be a nightmare, but no, for me it was a sheer sign that I needed to express my appreciation for Kanye through my writings. This vision I can only attribute to the fact I’ve been listening to The Life of Pablo over the past few weeks, and this can only be proof that Mr West is a sheer creative inspiration.

As I write this I need to point out my accessories. I am proudly supporting this t shirt:

kanye-tshirt

And being fuelled by coffee in this mug:

kanye mug.jpg

Kanye West is basically the Marmite of the music industry, you either love him or don’t. When I asked my mum what her opinion was of him (key research), she said he was an “acquired taste.” I couldn’t have put it better myself. I’m usually met with disgust when I tell people that I like Kanye West, I mean he’s controversial, knows how to bang the tunes out, what’s not to like?

When West first came on the scene his album The College Dropout was received very well by critics and even won him a Grammy for best rap album, but I do have to question did everything else that went on in the media taint this?

Ok let’s start with Taylor Swift. Who can forget this infamous relationship? “Im’ma let you finish” quickly swamped the internet with memes when West stormed on stage at the VMAs and demanded that Taylor Swift’s award be given to who he thought was the rightful owner, Beyonce. This tainted relationship quickly resurfaced when the ironically famous lines in The Life of Pablo’s ‘Famous’ caused a bit of a stir, because there is no denying that Kanye knows when to take something a bit too far. Let’s face it, anyone who bad mouths Taylor Swift you’ll have her army to answer to.

I do wonder if Kanye is just a bit misunderstood. When he announced last year that in 2020 he was to run for president the world was quick to express their opinion. Given what other world leaders are currently ruling nations, or trying to, maybe West wouldn’t be so bad after all.

In terms of ‘Kimye’ I’m not that interested in their relationship. A lot of people I know have been quick to say their marriage is for ‘publicity’ but to be fair I think they each know how to master this pretty well themselves.

Runaway is the song that my best friend and I will request whenever we are out in an ode to toxic relationships. In my work’s Secret Santa last year I very happily received the albums Late Registration and Graduation, both of which you will find me proudly blaring from my car. I do feel though the persona of Kanye West has taken over his actual music. In 2014 I actually got to witness Mr West in the flesh and he was undoubtedly one of the best acts I have ever seen live.

During his Wireless set West broke out into one okanyelive.jpgf his famous concert ranting sessions. I would be lying if I said I didn’t cringe a bit when the crowd started to “boo”, but surely the whole point of a concert is for an artist to express their feelings, whether it is through the medium of music or speech? Whatever he was talking about I remember he told the crowd to basically be themselves and not have any qualms about what others think of them. Something West tends to do extremely well.

Aside from the fact I like his music, I generally find him entertaining. Who else could come up with this kind of first world problem:

‘I hate when I’m on a flight and I wake up with a water bottle next to me like oh great now I gotta be responsible for this water bottle.’

Kanye West is undoubtedly a man of many words. If you don’t believe me, all you have to do is look at his Twitter account. What some see as ramblings, I see as inspiring.

k1.PNG

k2.PNG

k4

k6

I also cannot fail to mention that I basically owe my degree to Kanye West (obviously). Not only did Stronger on repeat get me through my dissertation, but during my second year of my Theology and Religious Studies course in my Spirituality and Popular Culture module I got to write the following essay: CRITICALLY ASSES RELIGIOUS AND CULTURAL THEMES IN JESUS WALKS AND NO CHURCH IN THE WILD AND THEIR OFFICIAL VIDEOS.

kanye essay.jpg

It was hands down the most favourite thing I ever wrote. So in defence of Kanye West, he’s pretty educational too.

Regardless of what you think of him you cannot deny he is a great entertainer, you would also be lying if you said you couldn’t rap at least 60% of Gold Digger word for word. I for one will be moving to America in 2020 for the presidential vote, I think we all will if Trump gets voted in.

k7

Leave a Reply

