Gavin James: The Non-Review

Three years ago my step-dad told me I needed to look up Gavin James. I stumbled upon his EP on iTunes and I’ve been hooked ever since.

Fast forward to 2016 and I finally caught Gavin James on tour. It was quite the “unagi moment” as I like to call it, when exactly a year before I went to see him I was pining on Twitter for a UK tour.

thumbnail_img_4499

I firstly need to point out that both the support acts were Irish. From a girl who hasn’t been home much in the last five years this made me extremely happy. Ireland has produced a number of incredible musicians: Hozier, Damien Rice, Glen Hansard, Bono… so it’s always great to see new talent which has come from there.

Declan Greene and Craig Gallagher supported, I especially need to highlight Greene’s rendition of ‘Gangsta’s Paradise’ and Gallagher and James’ unbelievable duet of Springsteen’s ‘Dancing In the Dark’ at the end of the set.

If you have never heard Gavin James’ voice, I can only describe it as heaven. It’s very rare to find an artist whose voice sounds exactly the same as a recording. It’s easy to see why Bitter Pill soared onto Radio 1’s playlist this year, the song certainly evokes all the emotions.

James definitely knows how to interact with the audience, it’s easy to have a conversation with the crowd, but not many artists get directly into the audience and start to play. Gorilla in Manchester is quite small so it’s perfect for an intimate gig, and what better way to get a bit intimate than singing Ray Charles’ ‘You Don’t Know Me’ in the middle of the crowd?

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

James has supported acts such as Ed Sheeran and Sam Smith on their tours, and it’s not hard to see why he has the opportunity to play with some of the world’s most well renowned artists. If you have yet to hear any of his stuff I definitely recommend checking it out, I’m already waiting for the next tour.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Leave a Reply

