Time Management “Skills”

Earlier this year I made the transition of working in hospitality to the 9-5 life. Naively, I thought this meant it would bring me a host of free time and alas, a weekend! I forgot that this actually meant, no more weekdays off where town is considerably quieter or getting a cheeky lie in when your shift doesn’t start until the afternoon. Nonetheless however, I enjoy being able to plan things without having to wait for a rota and also not having to work random hour shifts.

I know I am struck with a horrific feeling of guilt when I sincerely admit the line ‘I’m so sorry I’ve been so busy, we should definitely catch up soon!’ whilst knowing that I’m a terrible person for not seeing my friend. Recently for me this has been the case and I’ve had to accept that life is actually just really really busy.

My work hours are 10-6. Happy days I miss the early morning traffic and I don’t have to get up when it basically looks like the middle of the night were my initial thoughts, but as overtime has snuck up, and also the fact I need to get up mega early, my day has quickly evolved into a 7-10 personal rota.

I tend to get up about half six in the morning just so I can get as much work done as possible, this is mainly writing and radio show planning, otherwise I know I’ll be too tired when I come home from work and I know I’ll end up staying up really late to do it.

Personally, I am highly aware that I’ve been terrible recently at keeping this blog up to date. It’s like keeping a diary or going to the gym, you start off really motivated, but sometimes life gets in the way. I am by no means lazy about blogging, recently I have taken on a new writing role which I am mega excited about and as mentioned beforehand, I have radio shows to plan. One of the most important things to me is making sure I keep in touch with my friends. I know how easy it can be to drift away from people, but I do try really hard to drop a message every so often, or try to arrange a drink or a coffee with a pal -even though my friends may disagree!

Time-management in life is so important. It’s so easy to get swamped with work, but you need to take time to enjoy your hobbies, whether it’s going for a run or just simply reading a book. Reading is something that I am desperately trying to incorporate back into my schedule, so much that I’ve forced my friend to remind me that I need to finish the books they have lent me.

This time of year is undoubtedly the most busy, Christmas dos and shopping come to mind but it’s easy to forget about having a moment to yourself in the process. It’s like my favourite song by One Night Only says, ‘All we need is, time.’

 

 

Leave a Reply

