THROWBACK THURSDAY: 2007, AKA THE BEST YEAR EVER OF MUSIC

I’m currently struggling to comprehend a number of things at this point in time, last year we actually left the EU, I turn 24 this year and somehow it’s not 4 years from 2007, but it is in fact, TEN. HOW ON EARTH DID THAT HAPPEN?

Rewind back to 2007, Ugly Betty was still a thing, Twitter was merely a bird sound, my life aspirations were high and I was about to embark on my years as an awkward teenager.

The thing that stands out for me the most about this year isn’t my parent’s divorce, it’s the sheer bangers that the world was blessed to hear, all of which are proudly still on my iPod.

If you listen to my weekly show on a Thursday on Flipside (self-promo alert) you will know that every week, in homage to 2007 I have been playing some of my favourite tunes from that year. Well it is Throwback Thursday after all!

Naturally, this sparked the idea for a blog post, so get your Maybelline matte mousse on and let’s rewind back to the ten best songs (and suitable Bebo flashbox material) of 2007…

10. Sugababes – About You Now

At this point in time the Sugababes were on their 15th line up, but the pop tunes were still massive. 10 years later the Sugababes appear to have parted their separate ways but I’m due to make the line up in 2026.

 

9. Little Man Tate – This Must Be Love

One of the most underrated songs EVER, This Must Be Love takes me back to my edgy days of trying to find music that no one had ever heard of. Their track Saved By a Chat Show which is about Jeremy Kyle is also worth a listen.

 

8. Klaxons – It’s Not Over Yet

Not the oohooohooohooohoooh-ohoh song, originally by Grace back in 1985, It’s Not Over Yet is my personal fave Klaxons song.

7. Rihanna – Umbrella

Ironically the song of the summer, Umbrella spent a massive 10 weeks at number one, it’s probably one of the most overplayed songs in the world that I’m not sick of …yet.

6. Leona Lewis – Bleeding Love

Undoubtedly one of the best ballads of the 21st century, how could you forget screaming along to the iconic chorus in your room? Anyone? Just me then.

5. Kanye West Stronger

Like I was going to do a countdown of the best songs and not have Kanye West in it? Sampling a bit of Daft Punk, Stronger edged its way to becoming one of the most successful songs of the year, and was in fact West’s first UK number one single.

4. Kate Nash – Foundations

Rhyming ‘bitta’ with ‘fitta,’ Kate Nash was the indie princess that every girl could only dream of being. Her first album Made of Bricks was also pretty good.

3. Scouting For Girls – It’s Not About You

No doubt when Scouting For Girls are mentioned, your mind is immediately drawn to the young girl running through the streets of Eastbourne wearing a cardboard olive costume. But pre the Angus, Thongs and Snogging anthem that was She’s So Lovely, SFG released this absolute gem It’s Not About You. It also has a mega cute video.

2. Amy Winehouse – Back to Black

Taken from the album of the same title, and without a doubt one of my favourite albums of all time, Back to Black doesn’t just stand out as being one of the best songs of 2007, but definitely one of the best songs ever written.

1. Robyn – With Every Heartbeat

I was only 14 when this was released, and I may not have experienced pure heartbreak at this age but I felt I had with this emotional rollercoaster by Robyn. Fast-forward a couple of years later, she’s brought out arguably even better songs such as Dancing On My Own (let’s forget about that cover of it last year) and Call Your Girlfriend.

Thank you 2007 for these tunes.

Tori x

 

Also worthy of a mention:

Rihanna – Shut Up and Drive
Fall Out Boy – This Ain’t A Scene
Maroon 5 – Makes Me Wonder
Alicia Keys – No One
Arctic Monkeys – Brianstorm
Mutya Buena feat Amy Winehouse – B B
oy Baby
Sean Kingston – Beautiful Girls (classic)
Feist – 1234
Avril Lavigne – Girlfriend
Arctic Monkeys – Fluorescent Adolescent
Kate Nash – Pumpkin Soup
Klaxons – Golden Skans
Mark Ronson feat Lily Allen – Oh My God
Jamie T – If You Got the Money
Common feat Lily Allen – Drivin’ Me Wild
The Enemy – Had Enough
Fergie – Big Girls Don’t Cry
Mutya Buena – Real Girl
Maxïmo Park – Our Velocity
Beyoncé and Shakira – Beautiful Liar

 

2 thoughts on “THROWBACK THURSDAY: 2007, AKA THE BEST YEAR EVER OF MUSIC

Leave a Reply

